Goreski's Insulation Broomball Team

TEAM

On March 23rd 1986 Goreski's Insulation Broomball team from Port Perry won the gold medal at the Provincial Championships in Cornwall Ontario; a first for Port Perry Broomball.



The team represented Central East Region in the Intermediate Division and after three days of exciting broomball they came home with top honours and the gold medal. The Intermediate champions included the following players: Bill Owen, Dan Taylor, Randy Sullivan, Ed Olsen, Tom Powell, Bruce Woodrow, Dave Dickson, Ray Gibson, Wayne McGuigan, Bill St. John, Tim Cochrane, Ken Goreski (sponsor), Charlie Dennis, Mark Lee, Bart Wager and Tom Carroll. Goreski's won their first game of the tournament against the Northeast Region Vikings of Longlac by a score of 4 to 0. The next game was against the Hustlers from the Southwest Region and they won with a score of 4 to 1. In the third game of the tournament their opponents were the undefeated Easy Riders from the Central West Region. This game went to overtime with Dave Dickson scoring the winning goal giving Goreski's the win and a berth to the finals and a chance to win gold. In the championship game, Goreski's once again would face the

Goreski's Insulation Broomball Team

Continued ..

Easy Riders, who would have to beat the undefeated Goreski team twice to win gold. The Easy Riders were victorious in the first game by a score of 3 to 1. Now each team had a win and the stage was set for one deciding game, with the winner taking home the championship. Goreski's came out on top in this final game with a 4 to 1 victory and captured the gold medal. In the closing ceremonies of the tournament, Goreski's received a few more awards than just the gold medals. Tom Powell, who played well all weekend, received the tournament M.V.P award and three players from the team were selected for the six man All-Star team. These players were forwards Tom Powell and Dave Dickson and defenseman Dan Taylor. And just to top off their season in style Goreski's knocked off their cross-town rivals Utica to win the Port Perry League title.